Portfolio Takes a Breather from Losing

Finally breaks a losing streak that lasted the whole month in terms of my portfolio value.  It’s up $1000 as we speak, from yesterday, to $138,600.  The market fully retraced last Friday’s sell-off and a lot more.   Just about everything went up.  My overnight leftover GOOG and CME yielded some green; unfortunately I sold them shortly after the open.  The market went on steroid after that.

The daytrades, however, continue to suffer.   Long 500 SPY on the 20 ma support on the 5 minute chart.  The set up failed and got stopped out at the usual (local) bottom:

Then I shorted 100 SPY on confirmed backtest of the 20 ma resistance on the 5 minute chart:

In other words, got whipsawed.  Lost on both long and short trades.  That sucks.  Fortunately, in terms of monetary loss it was only ($80).  For the day, I booked about $300 of realized profit.

Some freaky event happened. I bought 500 DHR on theinformedtrader alert and was going to take a quick profit on 400 shares minutes after.  However, the limit order didn’t get filled even though the last quotes were way above it.  I couldn’t cancel the order, couldn’t place a new market order, and couldn’t cancel all open orders, and couldn’t close the position.  I even went to the web interface because it has happened before on the tradestation.  Finally I had to call the trade desk and he canceled the order for me.  Fortunately, this mishap worked in my favor, as I was able to fill the order at a higher price.

The other mishap, however resulted in the usual punishment.  I closed MUSA on resistance and was trying to place a stop order to buy above the resistance.  I used the order bar instead of Matrix and I ended up placing a limit order which resulted in a market order.  The Matrix would have automatically set the order type to stop order.  As we speak, I’m in red with the order entry error.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

